Dienstag aus Licht

Opera


Performance : October 24th, 2020, Philharmonie de Paris.

Karlheinz Stockhausen (1928-2007)
Dienstag aus Licht (1977-1991) [Tuesday from Light]

Dienstag aus Licht, the day of war, is devoted to the relationship and conflict between Michael and Lucifer.  The fourth part of the cycle Licht (in order of composition) is being presented as the third so as to highlight the interaction between the two characters who have just appeared in Donnerstag and Samtag aus Licht.

Team: 14 soloists, trumpet and trombone ensemble, actors, choir, ‘european orchestra’ & électronique
First performance of the production: october 24th 2020, Philharmonie de Paris
Color: geranium red | Celestial body : Mars | Spiritual features : idealism and devotion

Dienstags-Gruss | Tuesday’s Greeting

Both music and ideology are the grounds for the battle waged between the two ensembles portraying Lucifer and Michael. In center stage, the soprano who is Eve weeps over their conflict, begging them to settle their differences.

Act 1 : Jahreslauf | Course of the Year

Lucifer invites Michael to run the “Course of the Year,” a challenge where Lucifer will halt the passage of time and Michael will endeavor to restore the movement of time.  On four occasions Lucifer will cause time to come to a standstill, doing so by means of “temptations” (luscious food, a voluptuous woman or a storm), and on all four occasions Michael will cause time to turn again by means of “incentives” (the promise that the winner will be paid a large number of marks, or a monkey in a sports car will roar onto the stage).  Lucifer, with a certain irony, declares Michael to be the winner and urges him to prepare for a much fiercer battle.

Act II : Invasion-Explosion mit Abschied | Invasion – Explosion with Farewell

Dienstag turns away from comedy and moves towards tragedy.  On stage and off stage, the entire concert auditorium is turned into a battlefield.  The groups of instruments form regiments of artillery pitted one against the other.  One of the trumpeters is hit and collapses.  A Red Cross nurse holds him in her arms and they perform a poignant duo.

Fighting resumes, and Michael’s troops struggle and finally retreat, so Lucifer’s fighters attempt to take control of their shelter.  The fighters disappear, and a new world is revealed, bathed in white light.

Enter an exuberant, euphoric musician named Synthi-Fou, rigged out with synthesizers and speakers.  Reaching ever-increasing levels of ecstasy, he plays a spectacular, futuristic solo, as colors and lights surround him.  The warring parties cease their battle and gaze in fascination at him before facing into nowhere.  A final countdown, from thirteen to one, marks the end of Dienstag aus Licht.

Tuesday’s Greeting
20mn

1 solo soprano
9 trumpets
9 trombones
2 synthesizers
1 choir
1 conductor & assistant

Act I : Course of the year
57mn

1 tenor
1 bass
4 performers
1 actor-singer
3 actors
1 little girl
1 ‘beautiful woman’
1 ‘european orchestra’ : 3 harmoniums, 3 flutes, 3 soprano saxophones, 1 electric guitar, 1 harpsichord, 3 percussionnists.
1 sound projectionist

Act II | Invasion – Explosion avec Adieu| Invasion – Explosion with Farewell
1h15

1 soprano
1 tenor
1 bass
3 solo trumpets (1st trumpet plays the solo flugelhorn)
3 trombones
2 synthesizer players
2 percussionists
6 tutti trumpets
6 tutti trombones
1 choir
1 conductor (invisible)

The totality of Dienstag features sound projection and electronic music. Unlike other LICHT operas, the Greeting and the Farewell are played inside the concert hall.

Premiere of the opera
28 mai 1993, Leipzig Opera, Germany.

First performance of the production
October 24th, 2020

Total duration
2h30mn + 1 intermission

Conception & musical direction Maxime Pascal
Conception & staging Damien Bigourdan
Conception & video design Nieto
Scenography Myrtille Debièvre
Lighting Design Catherine Verheyde
Costumes Pascale Lavandier
Sound Projection Florent Derex
Computer Music Design Augustin Muller

Eve Elise Chauvin (Gruss) & Léa Trommenschlager (Act II)
General of the Michael-Troops Henri Deléger (trumpet)
General of the Lucifer-Troops Mathieu Adam (trombone)
Synthi-Fou Sarah Kim (organ)

Dienstag aus Licht

opéra

Concert le 24 octobre 2020 à la Philharmonie de Paris.

Karlheinz Stockhausen (1928-2007)
Dienstag aus Licht (1977-1991) [Mardi de Lumière]

opéra en un salut, deux actes et un adieu, pour dix-sept solistes, acteurs, chœur « orchestre européen », bande, chef d’orchestre et un sonorisateur

Dienstag aus Licht, jour de la guerre, est consacré à la relation conflictuelle qui oppose Michaël et Lucifer. Quatrième volet du cycle Licht (dans l’ordre d’écriture), nous avons choisi de le présenter en troisième, afin de montrer une interaction entre deux personnages qui viennent d’être présentés dans le Jeudi et le Samedi de Lumière.

Effectif : 14 solistes, ensemble de trompettes et trombones, acteurs, chœur, « orchestre européen » & électronique
Création Le Balcon : 24 octobre 2020, Philharmonie de Paris
Couleur : rouge géranium | Corps céleste : Mars | Qualités spirituelles : idéalisme et dévotion

Dienstags-Gruss | Salut du Mardi

Deux ensembles d’instrumentistes, représentant Lucifer et Michaël, s’affrontent musicalement et idéologiquement. Au centre de la scène, une soprano représentant Eva pleure leur conflit et les supplie de parvenir à une réconciliation.

Acte 1 : La Course de l’année

Lucifer invite Michaël à une « Course de l’année », un défi au cours duquel il arrêtera le temps, Michaël devant tenter de le remettre en mouvement. À quatre reprises, Lucifer stoppera le temps, ayant recours pour cela à des « tentations » (des mets délicieux, une femme plantureuse, un orage…) et à quatre reprises, Michaël le remettra en mouvement avec des « incitations » (une importante somme de marks est promise au vainqueur, un singe se rue sur scène en voiture de sport…). Lucifer, non sans ironie, déclare Michaël vainqueur du combat et lui recommande de se préparer à une bataille bien plus féroce.

Acte II : Invasion – Explosion avec adieu

Dienstag aus Licht délaisse alors le comique pour tendre vers le tragique. La scène, et au-delà, la salle de concert toute entière est transformée en champ de bataille. Les groupes d’instruments sont des régiments d’artillerie qui s’affrontent. L’un des trompettistes, touché, s’effondre sur le sol. Une infirmière de la croix-rouge le prend dans ses bras. Ils jouent un duo déchirant.

La bataille reprend, les troupes de Michaël, en difficulté, battent en retraite. Les combattants de Lucifer s’emploient à percer l’entrée de leur refuge. Les combattants disparaissent. Un nouveau monde apparait alors, illuminé d’une lumière blanche.

Un musicien exubérant et euphorique nommé Synthifou apparaît, harnaché de synthétiseurs et de hauts-parleurs. De plus en plus extatique, il joue un solo spectaculaire et futuriste, diffusant couleurs et lumières autour de lui. Les belligérants s’arrêtent et le regardent, fascinés, avant de disparaître dans les limbes. Son compte à rebours final, de treize à un, marque la fin du Mardi de Lumière.

Salut du Mardi
20mn

1 soprano solo
9 trompettes
9 trombones
2 synthétiseurs
1 chœur
1 chef d’orchestre avec 1 assistant

Acte 1 : La Course de l’année
57mn

1 ténor
1 basse
4 danseurs
1 acteur-chanteur
3 acteurs
1 petite fille
1 femme plantureuse
1 « orchestre européen » : 3 harmoniums, 3 flûtes, 3 saxophones sopranos, une guitare électrique, 1 clavecin, 3 percussionnistes
1 sonorisateur

Acte II | Invasion – Explosion avec Adieu
1h15

1 soprano
1 ténor
1 basse
3 trompettes solo (la 1ère joue du bugle solo)
3 trombones
2 synthétiseurs
2 percussionnistes
6 trompettes tutti
6 trombones tutti
1 chœur
1 chef d’orchestre (invisible)

L’intégralité de cet opéra est sonorisé et comporte des parties d’électronique musicale. Contrairement à d’autres opéras du cycle LICHT, le Salut et L’Adieu sont exécutés dans la salle de concerts

Création mondiale
28 mai 1993, Opéra de Leipzig, Allemagne.

Création Le Balcon
24 octobre 2020

Durée totale
2h30mn + 1 entracte

Conception & direction musicale Maxime Pascal
Conception & mise en scène Damien Bigourdan
Conception & création vidéo Nieto
Scénographie Myrtille Debièvre
Lumières Catherine Verheyde
Costumes Pascale Lavandier
Projection sonore Florent Derex
Réalisation informatique musicale Augustin Muller

Eva Elise Chauvin (Gruss) & Léa Trommenschlager (Acte II)
Général des troupes de Michaël Henri Deléger (trompette)
Général des troupes de Lucifer Mathieu Adam (trombone)
Synthi-Fou Sarah Kim (orgue)